Miraflores, the stunning 10-acre estate that has been home to the Music Academy of the West since 1951, originally served as the site of the Santa Barbara Country Club.
Purchased in 1915 by Mr. and Mrs. John Percival Jefferson, the property took on its distinctive Mediterranean revival-style elegance under the direction of architect Reginald D. Johnson and landscape architect Paul G. Thiene.
Originally encompassing 18 acres, the richly wooded, garden-filled estate was bequeathed to the Academy by Mr. Jefferson's personal secretary of 36 years, Helen Marso, who sought to establish a lasting memorial to the Jeffersons.
More than five decades later, the property continued to evolve. Hahn Hall opened in 2008, and the Luria Education Center was completed four years later.
And many more changes are to come. In 2016, the Main House was renovated and renamed the Marilyn Horne Main House. And following the 2016 Summer Festival, construction commenced on the Hind Hall teaching studio building.